Home > Activiteiten > Psallentes & Revue Blanche

Psallentes & Revue Blanche

Epistola Posteritati

The music in which they excel is usually about half a millennium apart, but for this project, Revue Blanche and Psallentes sought common ground. They found it in Italy, with music by the somewhat enigmatic but always poetic Salvatore Sciarrino (°1947) and texts by another somewhat enigmatic but always poetic Italian, Francesco Petrarch (1304-1374).

Petrarch’s writings include a letter about himself and his ideas, addressed ‘to the future’ (Epistola Posteritati). It makes us reflect on our own view of the past, present and future – especially now, when global crises have forced us to deal differently with looking back on our past and planning the future. The music of 14th century Italy comes from sources including the Squarcialupi Codex, which contains work by composers with whom Petrarch was well acquainted, such as Jacopo da Bologna and Francesco Landini. Psallentes devotes itself to their exciting vocal music, while Revue Blanche explores the fascinating world of Sciarrino. The American composer Michael Pisaro (°1961) has been commissioned by Psallentes and Revue Blanche to write a new piece, Signs from Petrarch. Epistola Posteritati by Revue Blanche and Psallentes is not merely a beautiful programme: above all, it is intense and penetrating, rendering the future in full colour once again.


M. Pisaro: Signs from Petrarch (première) | P. Abélard: Epithalamica | selection from the Squarcialupi Codex | S. Sciarrino: Due arie marine | Addio à Trachis and others


Hendrik Vanden Abeele, artistic director of Psallentes | Lore Binon, soprano | Caroline Peeters, flute | Kris Hellemans, viola | Anouk Sturtewagen, harp

Thu 23 November 2023

20:00 - AMUZ


Tier 1: € 28 / € 24 | Tier 2: € 24 / € 20 / This concert is also included in the Introduction season ticket.