Home > Activiteiten > Nicolas Callot & Penta Quintet

Nicolas Callot & Penta Quintet

Schumann's Piano Quintet

The creation of the exuberant and joyful Piano Quintet in E flat major, opus 44 is probably the result of a very relaxed holiday for Robert Schumann and also owes much to his love for his wife Clara, whom he had married in 1840. Clara herself played the piano at the première of the Piano Quintet in January 1843. The quintet is considered one of Schumann’s best compositions and a masterpiece of 19th century chamber music. The piece, composed for the piano and string quartet, revolutionised the instrumentation and musical character of the piano quintet, turning it into a typically Romantic genre. The new ensemble Penta is coming to AMUZ for the first time, joining Nicolas Callot on stage. 


F. Schubert: Overture for string quartet D 8 | M. Haydn: String quartet in C major, P. 108 MH 187 | R. Schumann: Arabesque for piano, opus 18 | Piano quintet in E flat major, opus 44


Nicolas Callot, piano | Helena Druwé, Barbara Erdner, violin | Bernadette Verhagen, Esther van der Eijk, viola | Tine Van Parys, cello

Sun 27 November 2022

15:00 - AMUZ


Tier 1: € 26 / € 22 | Tier 2: € 22 / € 18

This concert can be part of the season ticket Klavier and the season ticket Jongerenabonnement.

This cookie is set by doubleclick.net. The purpose of the cookie is to determine whether the user's browser supports cookies.