Home > Activiteiten > Collegium Vocale Gent: Solo e pensoso

Collegium Vocale Gent: Solo e pensoso

Petrarch’s Paradise Lost

In Solo e pensoso – Petrarch’s Paradise Lost Collegium Vocale presents an anthology of madrigals by Claudio Monteverdi, Luca Marenzio, Luzzasco Luzzaschi, Cipriano de Rore and Giovanni Pierluigi da Palestrina, based on works by one of the greatest poets of all time: Francesco Petrarch. As well as breathing new life into his vivid poetry from the trecento in the mid-16th to 17th centuries, they made him all but immortal. The Antwerp printing house Phalesius responded eagerly, publishing reprints of Monteverdi’s sixth book of madrigals (1639) and Marenzio’s sixth to ninth books of madrigals (1632) with the addition of basso continuo.




Miriam Allen, soprano | Barbora Kabátková, mezzo-soprano | Marine Fribourg, alto | Benedict Hymas, Tore Tom Denys, tenor | Jimmy Hollyday, bass | Lambert Colson, cornett | Anais Chen, violin | Ageet Zweistra, cello | Thomas Boysen, lute | Maude Gratton, harpsichord | Philippe Herreweghe, artistic leader

Sun 27 August 2023

20:00 - AMUZ


Tier 1: € 38 / € 34 | Tier 2: € 34 / € 30