Home > Activiteiten > Laus Polyphoniae > Parnassus Quartet (IYAP)

Parnassus Quartet (IYAP)

Schumann's Third String Quartet

Robert Schumann wrote his three string quartets in the summer of 1842, practically simultaneously, as a tribute to his wife Clara; they are full of nostalgia and profound love.

This is especially present in the third quartet of the collection. The Parnassus Quartet is a string quartet specialized in historically informed performance.This will illuminate Schumann’s quartet with a different light of what we are normally used to. The use of expressive tools belonging to the musical language of the 19th century (such as tempo rubato, “untogetherness”, portamenti amongst others) will contribute to creating a more meaningful musical discourse. The members of Parnassus Quartet have studied at the Royal Academy of Music and the Guildhall School of Music & Drama in London, Hochschule für Musik “Hans Eisler” in Berlin and the Royal Conservatoire of Scotland in Glasgow. They perform regularly in ensembles such as Balthasar Neumann Ensemble, Collegium Vocale Gent, Orchestre des Champs-Élysées and Orchestre Révolutionnaire et Romantique.


R. Schumann: String quartet nr. 3, opus 41


Xenia Gogu Mensenin, Sophia Prodanova, violin | Oscar Holch, vola | Victor Garcia Garcia, cello

Sat 20 August 2022

15:00 - AMUZ


€ 8 | IYAP day ticket: € 30

In collaboration with:

i.s.m. Musica Impulscentrum

This cookie is set by doubleclick.net. The purpose of the cookie is to determine whether the user's browser supports cookies.