Home > Activiteiten > Consone Quartet

Consone Quartet

French Masterpieces: String Quartets by Fauré and Debussy

Beethoven was not the only composer to suffer hearing problems. Fauré had similar difficulties in his old age. That led to a pared-down compositional style in his only string quartet. Completed in 1924, shortly before Fauré’s death at the age of 79, it was also his last composition. A critic wrote lyrically about the Andante that it “is bathed from beginning to end in a supernatural light”. Debussy, on the other hand, sounds forceful, even orchestral, but with a wonderful richness. “The Consone Quartet are a young string quartet with a really big future.” (the conductor Sir Roger Norrington).


G. Fauré: String quartet in E minor, opus 121 | G. Lekeu: Molto adagio sempre cantante doloroso | C. Debussy: String quartet in G minor, opus 10


Agata Daraškaite, Magdalena Loth-Hill, violin | Kay Stephen, viola | George Ross, cello

Fri 16 December 2022

20:00 - AMUZ


Tier 1: € 22 / € 18 | Tier 2: € 18 / € 16

This concert can be part of the season ticket Kennismakingsabonnement and of the season ticket De keuze van Reinoud Van Mechelen.

This cookie is set by doubleclick.net. The purpose of the cookie is to determine whether the user's browser supports cookies.